The Seven Celtic Nations

The Seven Celtic Nations

Ley Lines

The Sacred Network: Megaliths, Cathedrals, Ley Lines, and the Power of Shared Consciousness.“Ley lines” are used in relation to the location of mystical sites such as Stonehenge and mysterious crop circles. Another way of saying “ley lines” is “Dragon lines.” The “ley of the land” was a term describing how Cosmic forces flowed through and influenced an area, as well as how the area itself affected those Cosmic forces.

Dragons were thought to have a tremendous influence on the “ley of the land”, hence the term “Dragon lines”. Dragons have always been associated with the Power of the Land. Even today, in many esoteric rituals, people believe that invoking the “Eye of the Dragon” will increase their personal power.

The Celts were highly attuned to the land and dragons were believed to influence the land. Areas frequented by dragons were believed to possess special power. The ancient Druids believed the Earth itself was like the body of a dragon, and they built their sacred stone circles upon the “Power Nodes” of this body. They believed dragons connected us with the Earth’s magnetism and healing waters.

The Anglo-Saxon word “dragon” is derived from the Greek word meaning “to see clearly.” Dragons were believed to have the gifts of vision, wisdom and prophecy and were considered the guardians of all knowledge and wisdom.

The Seven Original Celtic Nations

  • Eire (Ireland): Ireland is the third-largest island in Europe and the twentieth-largest island in the world. A Norman invasion in the Middle Ages gave way to a Gaelic Resurgence in the 13th century.
  • Kernow (Cornwall): Cornwall forms the tip of the south-western peninsula of Great Britain. It was occupied in the Iron Age by Celts. Cornwall was a division of the Dumnonii tribe—whose tribal centre was in the modern county of Devon.
  • Mannin (Isle of Man): The Isle of Man is located in the Irish Sea between the islands of Great Britain and Ireland, within the British Isles. It began to be influenced by Gaelic culture in the AD 5th century and the Manx language, a branch of the Gaelic languages.
  • Breizh (Brittany): Brittany occupies a large peninsula in the north west of France. Its land area is 34,023 km² (13,136 sq mi). After the Neolithic period, Brittany became home to several different Celtic tribes.
  • Alba (Scotland): Alba is the Scottish-Gaelic name for Scotland. It occupies the northern third of Great Britain and it includes over 790 islands. Groups of settlers began building the first known permanent houses on Scottish soil around 9,500 years ago, and the first villages around 6,000 years ago.
  • Cymru (Wales): During the Iron Age and early medieval period, Wales was inhabited by the Celtic Britons.
    A distinct Welsh national identity emerged in the centuries after the Roman withdrawal from Britain in the 5th century, and Wales is regarded as one of the modern Celtic nations today.
    The striking Welsh flag consists of the Red Dragon of Cadwaladr, and the Tudor colors – green and white (the Tudors were the Welsh descendant kings of England). The dragon has long been a symbol of the Welsh, and has been both associated with Arthurian Legend and perhaps Roman-Britain unity. There is also a tale that the dragon represented the Celtic victory in battle and ascendance over the invading Saxon (symbolized in this legend as being a white serpent overcome by a red one).
  • Galicia (Spain): Galacia is in northwest Spain, and descends from one of the first tribes of Celtic heritage in Europe, the Kingdom of Galicia. The name Galicia comes from the Latin name Gallaecia, associated with the name of the ancient Celtic tribe that resided above the Douro river. It is the seventh Celtic Nation and the least known of the group. Beyond the Spanish coast lies the same mysterious menhirs that dot the Irish countryside. The  region has nearly 100 festivals each year, including a collection of Celtic traditions from ancient “pallozas” (stone huts believed to be Celtic) to summer solstice ritual bonfires and a parade of witches.

Celtic Cross.

The history of the Celtic cross goes back to a time before the Christian conversion of Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

It’s believed by some that the four arms of the cross represents the four elements, earth, air, fire and water. They also represent the four directions of the compass, North, South, East and West. And finally the four parts of man, mind, soul, heart and body. The horizontal line of the cross symbolizes earth and the vertical portion symbolizes heaven.

Sources: The Celtic Crier, Gaelic Forge, Trans Celtic

The Celtic Spirit: Daily Meditations for the Turning YearThe Celtic Spirit.

The Celtic Spirit.Caitlin Matthews.

The ancient Celts and their spiritual mediators, the Druids believed in the communion of all living things and sought harmony between nature and the human soul.

Using poetry, myths, reflections, rituals, and visualizations, Celtic scholar Caitlin Matthews leads you on a year long pilgrimage to help connect the cycles of your soul to the circle of the seasons.

From the winter months of Samhain to the summer months of Beltane, from meditations on gifts and blessings of life to the insights and promises of the soul to complete your own sacred circuit of the turning year.

Brimming with the legends and lore of Ireland, Wales, Scotland, and Britain.


Comments are closed.